Juncker unveils new European Commission

The European Commission’s President-elect, Jean-Claude Juncker, on Wednesday unveiled his team and the new shape of the next European Commission, with Croatian Commissioner Neven Mimica being at the helm of the department of International Cooperation and Development.

source: European Commission click to enlarge

“The new College will have seven Vice-Presidents, six in addition to the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Policy and Security Policy (Federica Mogherini), each leading a project team. They will be steering and coordinating the work of a number of Commissioners in compositions that may change according to need and as new projects develop over time,” the EU said on its web site.

“These project teams mirror the Political Guidelines. Examples include ‘Jobs, Growth, Investment and Competitiveness’, ‘Digital Single Market’ or ‘Energy Union’. This will ensure a dynamic interaction of all Members of the College, breaking down silos and moving away from static structures. The Vice-Presidents will all act as real deputies to the President.”

Juncker was quoted as saying that “in the new Commission, there are no first or second-class Commissioners – there are team leaders and team players. They will work together in a spirit of collegiality and mutual dependence. I want to overcome silo-mentalities and introduce a new collaborative way of working in areas where Europe can really make a difference.”

All Commissioners, except the new Commission’s president, will be interviewed by competent committees in the European Parliament at hearings set in the period between 29 September and 3 October.

“The new European Commission will be streamlined to focus on tackling the big political challenges Europe is facing: getting people back to work in decent jobs, triggering more investment, making sure banks lend to the real economy again, creating a connected digital market, a credible foreign policy and ensuring Europe stands on its own feet when it comes to energy security. The new way the Commission will be set up reflects these Political Guidelines, on the basis of which Jean-Claude Juncker was elected by the European Parliament.”

The 28-strong Commission has nine women, and three of them are vice-presidents.